2017-2018 Leadership Team

Caitlin Stover

Chair: Caitlin Stover, Assistant Professor UMass Dartmouth College of Nursing, Department Chair and Master’s Program Director

Vision: To effectively lead the GLMA Nursing Section members in advocating for the health of LGBTQ individuals, especially during this time of social and political disarray




Caroline Dorsen

Chair-Elect: Caroline Dorsen, Assistant Professor, New York University Rory Meyers College of Nursing; Affiliated Investigator, Center for Drug Use and HIV Research (CDUHR)

Vision – to increase and diversify membership in the GLMA nursing section, and to create a strategic plan to ensure that our work to promote LGBTQ+ health equity continues.






Past Chair: Michael Johnson, Assistant Professor, University of Nevada Las Vegas

Michael Johnson

Vision – to promote a more healthy and compassionate environment for all. As a long-standing member and leader within GLMA Nursing, I am committed to supporting and advancing the organization. Our organization will create a legacy.








Recorder: Diane Verrochi, Nursing Faculty, University of Hartford

Diane Verrochi


  • Communicate what is going on in the GLMA Nursing Section to promote LGBTQ health equity;
  • Promote ongoing discussion of current topics in LGBTQ health through our virtual journal club.







Budget Officer: Tracey Rickards, Assistant Professor /Embedded Clinician Researcher, Faculty of Nursing, University of New Brunswick

Tracey Rickards



  • Build on the strong Nursing Summit foundation to strive for bigger and better.
  • Foster continued collaboration with a mighty group of dedicated GLMA Nurses.






Student Representative: Shannon Avery-Desmarais, MSN, AGPCNP-C, Doctoral Candidate, UMass Dartmouth

Shannon Avery-Desmarais

Vision: My vision as student advocate for the leadership team is to advance LGBTQ health equality through fostering student involvement in LGBTQ health research








GLMA Board Liaison: Laura Hein,  Associate Professor, College of Nursing, University of South Carolina

Vision: Working closely with many of you awesome people as we continue to grow the Nursing Section








Web Management Team:

Left to Right: Diane Verrochi, Jessica Marsack, Tiffany Cook, Peggy Chinn